Management Board

The research school's management board decides on all organisational affairs that are related to the structure, academic activities, and curriculum of the International Helmholtz Research School for Diabetes. In addition, it approves the selection of candidates that are funded by the HRD.

The management board consists of the two spokespersons, the HELENA director, the coordinators and doctoral researcher representatives from HDC and ADI, respectively, and one additional scientist each:


Prof. Dr. Carolin Daniel

Institute of Diabetes Research (IDF)

Helmholtz Diabetes Center

Dr. Peter Senior

Director, Alberta Diabetes Institute
Charles A Allard Chair in Diabetes Research

Professor of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology & Metabolism


Scientist Representatives

Prof. Paul Pfluger

Institute for Diabetes and Obesity

Helmholtz Diabetes Center

Doctoral Researcher Representatives

Julia Zuber

Institute for Diabetes and Cancer (IDC)

Helmholtz Diabetes Center



Perla Cota

Institute of Diabetes and Regeneration Research (IDR)

Helmholtz Diabetes Center



Dr. Kalina Draganova

HRD Coordinator

(parental leave replacement)

Dr. Sofia Kappel

HRD Coordinator

(on parental leave)

Dr. Monika Beer

HELENA Director

Dr. Vincent Rogers

ADI Coordinator